Grace Awards

Expanding the Tent Pegs of Christian Fiction

WALKS ALONE by Sandi Rog ~ an abundance of scenes knee deep in snow

Want to escape the holiday rush? Curl up with a good book and enjoy a hot cup of excitement and adventure on a cold snowy day? Walks Alone Amazon

WALKS ALONE opens on a crisp November morning aboard a ship arriving in America and carries us into a lonely Christmas that our heroine will never forget. As she admires the popcorn decorations on the tree, the clock above the mantle ticks the minutes by as her father’s life ebbs away.

Soon the reader is swept into an adventure when Anna flees an abusive uncle and is determined to reach the city of her dreams. But White Eagle and his fierce warriors take her prisoner. Anna attempts a harrowing escape, but her savage captor is determined to have her at all costs and forces her to be his wife. Has God forgotten her, or does He have plans of His own?

A man with a boot in one world and a moccasin in the other, White Eagle is disillusioned with his faith after a minister leads a massacre on his peaceful tribe. Where is his God? He’s definitely not with the white men who are slaughtering his people. But White Eagle also can’t give in to the idolatry practiced by his fellow tribesmen. Only the Truth can set him free. And it’s found in beautiful Anna’s carpetbag.

Xmas, Angel

 

Gracie, our intrepid Christmas angel, loves the wild west and had been chomping at the bit to interview the author of this exciting novel.

Gracie:    Tell us about your fondest Christmas memory.

Sandi:  My fondest Christmas memory was back in 2011. We thought it was going to be my last Christmas (at that time I’d been battling cancer for an entire year). By then, I desperately wanted fun and lights, not just for myself but mostly for our children. So, my husband (despite not having the money) went out and bought a gazillion lights and outdoor decorations to bedeck the house and lawn for Christmas. I, with the whole family, posed for a family picture in the cold in front of all the lights. That moment is one of my fondest memories, to know my husband would go to such lengths to make my last Christmas a happy one.

Gracie:  Ah, but it wasn’t your last, PTL. God had other plans, just sayin, girl friend…

Gracie:   Do you have a favorite Christmas movie? What about that film thrills you…makes you tear up?

Sandi Rog

Sandi:  It’s a Wonderful Life is my favorite Christmas movie. We watched it together last year in 2012, and both my husband and I felt like I got to experience this movie in real life. God used my getting sick and nearly losing my life to help me see my value to family and friends.

Gracie:   What foods can be expected on your holiday menu? Are you known for a particular Christmas delicacy or treat?

Sandi:  I’m going to attempt to make pumpkin pie for the first time from scratch. My sixteen year old says, I’m not going to “attempt to make pumpkin pie, I’m going to succeed” because she’s going to be here to help me, and she made it last year with her daddy. I’m looking forward to this endeavor!

Gracie:  Have you ever done something unusual or totally out of character for Christmas?

Sandi:   Before I got sick, we knew of a family that was suffering. One of the girls was a friend of my oldest daughter from school; she had four younger siblings. We packed together a bunch of presents for the kids and movie tickets for the parents, along with some goodies to eat, and we put them on their doorstep on Christmas morning. We rang the doorbell and ran! We hid around a corner and watched them collect the bag of gifts. That was probably the most fun and exciting Christmas we ever experienced.

 Courtesy of Stock.xchng

Courtesy of Stock.xchng
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

