Grace Awards

Expanding the Tent Pegs of Christian Fiction

VICTORY by DeEtte Beckstead ~ fantasy in the winter

As we know all writers become an overnight success. Well, that’s “Bah, humbug.” DeEtte started writing in the 2007 NaNoWriMo challenge, as so many authors have. The outcome is this wonderful story called VICTORY.

Victory, Amazon

 

Victory, a town where the people love their country and their neighbors, but what happens when two visitors come to town? One comes with fear and control, slowly taking away the freedoms the people love. The other comes with faith. When darkness overtakes the small town who will have Victory? This is a struggle between good and evil and the victim could be a little girl.

 

Xmas, Angel

 

Gracie, our little Christmas angel, love a good winter fantasy story and she’s thrilled to be interviewing an author with such a love of family and a reverence for life.

 

Gracie:  Have you ever had to handle a significant loss during the holidays? How did you cope?

DeEtte:  My maternal grandmother died the day before my 15th birthday, on December 22. I was very close to her and the loss was great. My birthday was almost forgotten by all of us in our grief. That Christmas was a bittersweet one. We celebrated the birth of Jesus, as well as thinking about how much my grandmother loved each of us. Three years later, my mother died in November. That first Christmas without her was very difficult. I spent it with my older sister and her family.  It is still hard each year when my mother’s Christmas bell is hung on the tree, even after 43 years. However, I try to remember the good times with my mother and grandmother instead of dwelling on the sadness of not seeing them. I have the hope of being with them both in Heaven one day.

DeEtte Beckstead

Gracie:  Do you have a particular Christmas tradition? Perhaps something handed down from generation to generation?

DeEtte:  I am privileged to have the glass bell that was on my mother’s first Christmas tree in 1915. It has always had a place of honor on our tree, and even more since my mother died in 1970. Each year we place it gently and lovingly near the top of the tree. When my children were growing up, I told them that Grandma’s bell would remain on the tree as long as they got along, but if they fought, the bell would be removed until they proved they could be loving to each other. There was only one year I had to remove it at all. It was a beautiful reminder to them.

Gracie:  Do you have a favorite Christmas movie? What about that film thrills you…makes you tear up?

DeEtte: My favorite Christmas movie is “It’s a Wonderful Life.”  It reminds me that every life is important and how each life affects so many others.

VICTORY Purchase Links:

Amazon/Kindle   http://amzn.to/1cbg46o

Courtesy of Stock.xchng

Courtesy of Stock.xchng

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “VICTORY by DeEtte Beckstead ~ fantasy in the winter

  1. Love the glass bell tradition, especially as an incentive to your kids (Moms can be so creative!). Thanks for sharing the hard memories of losing a loved one. When our dad passed away in late November 2008, our cousin said, “It never gets easier, but it does get better.” She was right, but oh how we miss him! Wishing you a wonderfully blessed Christmas, DeEtta!

  2. That is a beautiful memory and cherished item: the bell. What a wonderful memory to have and pass down to your children! Your novel sounds wonderful. Best wishes on success for it!

  3. Glad to meet you, DeEtte. Great interview. I lost my father-in-law on Christmas Day, 1969. It still hurts, but he is happy now.

Leave a Reply

