Grace Awards

Expanding the Tent Pegs of Christian Fiction

HEAVENLY HAVEN by Christine Lindsay First in the Grace Filled Christmas Book Bash

Heavenly Haven 2

 

 

The Grace Awards is thrilled to kick off its Grace Filled Christmas Book Bash 2013 with a delectable novel by renowned author Christine Lindsay, HEAVENLY HAVEN.

 

 

Avalanches happen to other people, not us. Marital problems happen to other people, not us, especially nine days before Christmas. That’s what the characters Jack and Shaina Burke think in HEAVENLY HAVEN.

But what about us readers in real life? We need to decorate the tree, the house, there’s baking to be done, choir practice, shopping, cleaning….

Remember the old adage—a woman’s work is never done. Or is it? Christmas is one of those times when women get caught up in what we think we should be doing. Is it possible other things are squeezing the most precious relationships out of our life and right under our noses? Life is too short.

On a trip through the majestic Canadian Rockies with my husband, I noticed a large artillery gun at the summit. My husband explained that avalanche control experts shoot artillery shells into the snowcaps to trigger avalanches. They do this to control the snows from building too high and thick and thereby causing a fatal avalanche.

I compared avalanche control to what I needed to do to keep my loved ones close. So, like avalanche control experts, I choose to cut back on my schedule to spend more togetherness time with my family.

Just like me in real life, Jack and Shaina Burke in HEAVENLY HAVEN thought they were fine too. Married for ten years, avalanche control expert Jack, and Shaina, only wanted to celebrate their December anniversary in a romantic way…until the shifting snows on the mountain bring havoc tumbling down upon them.

I wrote my short Christmas novelette HEAVENLY HAVEN with the hope that the drama, suspense, and the romance inspire you into deeper love relationships this Christmas.

Heavenly Haven is available as an Ebook on Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, and Kobo.

 

Xmas, Angel

 

 

For some extra fun this year, we thought we’d have Gracie, our Christmas angel, ask Christine a few Christmasy questions.

 

Gracie:  Are your Christmas decorations traditional, or do they have a more modern flare. Perhaps they’re eclectic? Do you have a particular theme? Or does each and every ornament and decoration have a personal meaning to you?

new copies 197

                                                                                                                                           
Christine and Puss Puss the kitty and Zeke.
Christine:  I LOVE to decorate at Christmas time, inside and out. My style is an eclectic bunch of ornaments around a couple of Christmas themes—color, music, words, and angels.  The color Gold is in the ribbons and metal tying in all the other colors on my tree and throughout my house. Gold makes me think of the King of Kings who came to us as a baby. And jewel colors, like ruby, sapphire, emerald, amethyst, and emerald, again for the King of Kings. There are all sorts of ornaments on my tree and other spots in the house that denote music, because music was one of the ways God announced the birth of His son. I also love these musical instruments because my youngest son is a musician.
Gracie:  Are you a Christmas fanatic…a real crazy? Or is your approach more down to earth and relaxed?
Christine:  I’ve turned into a bit of a fanatic. The spiritual reasons for Christmas just excite me so much that I consider decorating and enjoying the full month of December with Christmassy things as a form of worship. I’m not into gifts much. But I love to listen to the music of Christmas–one the street corners, in church, at concerts, from children, and on TV. But I hate to turn Christmas into a hectic time. For me Christmas is the time to relax, slow down and enjoy those Christmas movies. Spend time taking the grandkids to fun Christmas events. Slow down in the store parking lot and give a Christmas gift to a stranger by letting them have that parking spot.
Gracie:  Tell us about your fondest Christmas memory.
Zeke Christmas
                       
 Zeke in front of the hearth.
Christine:  The memory that keeps coming to me lately is last year. We still had our dog Zeke, who passed on later in the spring. But last Christmas at ten years old, he still thought he was a puppy. Zeke and our three grandsons were going around and around one of the sofas in the living room chasing some radio controlled car. This went on for quite a while, and the laughter was amazing out of my three small grandsons. And in the middle of that parade was Zeke with the silliest, happiest, doggy grin you ever saw. 
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

